BOCA RATON, Fla. – Fayth Davis of the Florida Atlantic University softball team has been named to the 2020 Conference USA Preseason Team, as announced by the league Thursday.

Davis is one of the top returners in C-USA, coming off last season as the team’s leader in batting average. The redshirt junior batted .389 (.400 in C-USA play), which was the third-best in the conference. She was also on a career-high nine-game hitting streak in the final leg of the season. Davis finished third in C-USA in doubles (15), while also capturing two home runs, 12 RBI, a .593 slugging percentage and a .457 on-base percentage. As the starting right-fielder, Davis threw out five runners at home last season.

The St. Augustine, Florida product finished last season as a first-time selection to the C-USA All-Conference Team. She was named to the second-team as an outfielder.

FAU was also projected to finish eighth in the C-USA Preseason Poll, as voted on by the league’s head coaches. Co-regular season champions North Texas received nine first-place votes, as they stand atop the poll. 

The Owls will get the 2020 season rolling at the FAU First Pitch Classic on Friday, Feb. 7 at FAU Softball Stadium. FAU will open up against Wisconsin at 6 p.m., followed by Indiana State at 8:15 p.m. For tickets, call 1-866-FAU-OWLS or visit

For complete coverage of FAU softball, follow along on Twitter (@fauowlssoftball), Instagram (@owls_softball) and Facebook.

Here is the full list of preseason C-USA selections:
2020 C-USA Preseason Poll
1. North Texas (9)
2. WKU (2)
T3. Louisiana Tech (1)
T3. Marshall
5. UAB
6. Middle Tennessee
7. Southern Miss
8. Florida Atlantic
9. FIU
10. UTSA
11. UTEP
12. Charlotte

2020 Preseason Player of the Year
Lindsey Edwards, Louisiana Tech

2020 Preseason Pitcher of the Year
Hope Trautwein, North Texas

2020 Preseason All-Conference Team
P: Kailee Williamson, Marshall
P: Hope Trautwein, North Texas
P: Kelsey Aikey, WKU
C: Bailey Vannoy, Charlotte
C: Kendall Smith, WKU
INF: Lindsey Edwards, Louisiana Tech
INF: Kimmie Atienza, Louisiana Tech
INF: Aly Harrell, Marshall
INF: Summer Burgess, Middle Tennessee
INF: Lacy Gregory, North Texas
INF: Lacey Sumerlin, Southern Miss
OF: Fayth Davis, Florida Atlantic
OF: Mya Stevenson, Marshall
OF: Katie Clark, North Texas
OF: Destini Brown, Southern Miss
UT/DP: Kasey Flores, UTEP
*an additional infielder selection was added due to a tie in voting.