BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference announced the 2020 SEC Softball Preseason Coaches’ Poll Wednesday morning after it tabulated the votes from the league’s 13 head coaches. Florida was picked to finish fifth in the poll.

The eight-time SEC regular season champions garnered 92 total points, which trailed Kentucky (101), LSU (117), Tennessee (129) and Alabama (143). The Crimson Tide secured 11 first place votes, while Tennessee picked up the remaining two first-place nods.

In 2019, the Gators finished the regular season with a 12-12 conference record, but went on to capture the program’s fifth overall SEC Tournament Championship.

Florida is set to begin its’ 2020 campaign at the USF-Rawlings Invitational in Tampa against Illinois State (Feb. 7) at 6:45 p.m. with the first SEC series slated against Auburn (March 6-8).

The Gators are also set to host conference opponents Ole Miss (March 28-30), Missouri (April 9-11) and Georgia (May 24-26).

UF is also set to host a pair of marquee non-conference series at home against Louisiana (Feb. 28-March 1) and Baylor (March 13-15).

The first home contest in the recently renovated Katie Seashole Pressly Stadium is an exhibition set for Tuesday, Feb. 11, at 6 p.m. against Team USA. Former Gators Michelle Moultrie, Aubree Munro and Kelsey Stewart will return with the Red, White and Blue to take on the Gators as they prepare for their quest to win Olympic gold at the 2020 Tokyo Games.

Single game tickets are on sale now and can be purchased through the Gator Ticket Office.

Over the phone: 1-800-34-GATOR or (352)-375-4683
In person: At the Gator Ticket Office, located on the West side of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium from 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The 2020 SEC Softball Tournament will take place May 6-9 at Rhoads Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

The full 2020 schedule can be found HERE.

2020 SEC Softball Preseason Coaches’ Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)
Place School Points

  1. Alabama (11) 143
  2. Tennessee (2) 129
  3. LSU 117
  4. Kentucky 101
  5. Florida 92
  6. Georgia 84
  7. Arkansas 80
  8. Ole Miss 62
  9. South Carolina 56
  10. Missouri 54
  11. Auburn 52
  12. Mississippi State 22
    Texas A&M 22

** Points for the poll were awarded on a 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12 basis. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.